Journalism Awards Committee

The Journalism Awards Committee was instituted in the year 2008 with a purpose to acknowledge the fine work of journalists. The 6th Edition Journalism Awards will witness the esteemed presence of veteran journalists as the Committee Members. The committee comprises of Business journalist Mr. Buroshiva Dasgupta from The Financial Express, former sports journalist Mr. Chittaranjan Biswas from Ananda Bazar Patrika, and photo-journalist Mr. Subrata Patranabis from The Statesman.

Buroshiva Dasgupta

He is a veteran Journalist with experience ranging over 25 years. He has worked with major Indian publications like The Statesman, The Times of India (The Economic Times), The Indian Express (The Financial Express). He researched on New Media and New Poetics: the changing interface and was awarded PhD from Calcutta University. He is the founding editor of the Indian Edition of the refereed media online magazine 'Global Media Journal' that is published across ten countries.

Chittaranjan Biswas

Mr. Biswas is a former senior Sports Journalist of Anandabazar Patrika. He has been conferred with prestigious awards like Soviet Land Nehru Award in 1980, Pepsi Cola Award for Most Active Journalist in Goodwill Games Moscow 1986 among others during his tenure as a journalist. He was also been associated with Khelar Asar (The First Bengali Sports Weekly) as the Editor. 2015.

Subrata Patranobis

He worked as a Photojournalist for thirty seven years. He was the chief photographer of The Statesman for twenty one years. At present he is a faculty in Pailan College, I-Lead and NSHM.